A useful little video about organ donation criteria

I put this short video together to give people an opportunity to hear Dr Paul Byrne speak on organ donation criteria. I’ve done this in response to the decision by Scotland to go for an opt out system for organ donation. I am getting into some arguments with folk about this – of course they will defend their ignorance on this subject, their precious ignorance, and I don’t say that to be cruel, because the truth is so abhorrent that I cannot really blame people for finding it unacceptable. They want to tell me I’m wrong, and insult me rather than even investigate the words of experts I have put before them. I can only do and say so much – but I do so to protect them and their loved ones from an abominable crime – murder.

Organ donation, whatever your religion, whatever your stance on medical ethics, is reliant on one thing, which no matter your political persuasion, is currently at fault. There is no informed consent.

This is a legal issue – no matter what else may colour your views on the matter. Without informed consent, organ theft is a crime. It cannot be a donation – and indeed once an opt out system is in place, it won’t be in anyones vocabulary any longer to refer to it as a donation! But without informed consent, it’s a crime, and in any case, as patients are alive when their organs are removed it is murder, plain and simple. Because of this, I cannot stay silent.

Please watch this and share it with everyone you know, and especially loved ones. If they know what’s involved their lives may be saved.

God Bless you

Lis

