What does the bible say about sarcasm?

“I was only joking!”

Yes I recall hearing that, and the other phrase:

“I didn’t mean it.”

…said to me many times when I was at school, where I was bullied; said indeed by the bullies themselves.Of course their words hurt me, and destroyed my self-esteem. It was only at the point where I stood up to my teachers and became a rebel, that suddenly I was ‘popular’ at the point where I was leaving school. In fact the bullying stopped when I had speech training coaching. As my voice changed, and my confidence rose, the girls changed towards me.

Yet we see sarcasm around us all the time. I hear it even when evangelists sneer at others, giving them demeaning epithets to dismiss them – ‘cotton candy Christians’ is one I’ve heard a lot. Ugh!

How many times do we as adults say the very same thing?

Sarcasm is seen as a sophisticated form of humour, it’s seen as a sign of intelligence in humour. So what does God think ofpeople who use words they don’t mean which are hurtful and cruel? (And it would be just as bad to say things which are falsely nice and flattering when they are not meant!).

Proverbs 26:18-19 Like a madman who throws Firebrands, arrows, and death,
19 So is the man who deceives his neighbor (acquaintance, friend) And then says, “Was I not joking?” (AMP)

 Ouch!

I think we need to be careful in our walk, and in our TALK!

God Bless you

Lis

One thought on “What does the bible say about sarcasm?”

Comments are closed.