Why do I believe that Jesus (Yeshua) is the Messiah?

I see at the heart of the Hebrew Roots movement a deep dark pit that some are falling into, and in doing so they are falling away from Jesus altogether – they decide that he was not the Messiah, and become Jewish, and lose their salvation.

Now I am not saying that Jews won’t be saved – they will know Yeshua when He returns, and God isn’t going to allow anyone He has chosen to not see that – I feel sure of that.

The issue is this – my experience tells me that Yeshua IS the Messiah, and I worry that it’s the very lack of prayer and experience of God through the powerful name of Jesus, that has caused some Messianics to fall away. They simply have not experienced the power of His name.

When I have had times of darkness I have taken authority over demonic forces in Yeshua’s name and done so with success – they have stopped their actions against me in that moment and retreated. Now if there’s a legal right or a legal ground for them to do what they are doing, they will either carry on, or stop and then start again, but I have witnessed the power of Jesus’ name and the authority it confers on me as a believer – I know that God is real, and I have seen Him act. I am in relationship with God, and if you are in relationship with God, then knowing His son is a big part of that.

So what is messing up the faith of those who are falling away into Judaism?

I think it comes from churches which don’t encourage true relationship with God individually, but tend towards a Pastor or congregational style of leadership – if you aren’t taking the Word of God seriously, reading it yourself and asking God to speak to you through it, and if you’re not in daily communion with God – then you might be persuaded by ‘lack of evidence’ that Jesus was not the Son of God!

Orthodox Judaism and idolatry of Judaism. Controversial, maybe, but a LOT of Christians who get into the Law start to try to emulate the Jewish traditions with are not in the Torah, or which are exclusive to them – buying prayer shawls or saying shalom to everyone, or going to a synagogue – you will not find Jesus there, and as He is the door, and NO-ONE comes to the Father except through Him – well it’s not worth doing those things.

Orthodox Jews do not have it in their best interests to prove that Yeshua is the Messiah, do they? Of course not. If you want a more balanced view on Judaism and the Trinity, listen to Michael Heiser, who has studied the ancient manuscripts without an axe to grind. I have nothing against Jews remaining Jewish, but if they are wrong and you are following them, and not God, then that is unwise. I understand the counter argument, that if Jesus is not God then you shouldn’t be worshipping Him, that would be true, so worship God THROUGH Him – follow His example, and live the life of Christ – do His deeds, and walk in His footsteps (which means to do as He saw His Father in Heaven doing).

Praying to Jesus and other activities – I am not sure about this practice of praying TO Jesus – we are to pray through Him, yes? In His name. Can anyone point me to a scripture where Jesus points to Himself as to be worshipped or prayed to? I always see Him doing everything to point us to God the Father. Correct me if I’m wrong.

The main thing to realise is that Judaism doesn’t have the answers, any more than the Christian church with it’s pagan Easter and Christmas do. The answers are in the book – read the bible, and pray that God will reveal His truth to you through the Holy Spirit.

God Bless you

Lis

10 thoughts on “Why do I believe that Jesus (Yeshua) is the Messiah?”

    1. Jesus says ‘I and my Father are one’ – Jesus says ‘I am the way, the truth and the Life, no-one comes to the Father except through me’ – and that we are to ask ‘In my name’ – we are praying THROUGH Jesus, in His name, as He told us to, because He is God – He is one with the Father.
      Phi 2 refers to Isaiah 45:23 – “I have sworn by myself, the word is gone out of my mouth in righteousness, and shall not return, That unto me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear.” and confirms that Jesus is one with God.

      Like

      1. Isaiah 45 said it’s G-d! Jesus is not G-d… It’s clear as per the Hebrew Bible, do you translate those verses like that?

        Deuteronomy 4:35

        “To you it was shown that you might know that the (group of three gods), He is God; there is no other besides Him ( the group of three gods).

        Deuteronomy 32:12

        “The (group of three gods in one) alone guided him, And there was no foreign god with (that group).

        Deuteronomy 32:39

        ‘See now that I, I am He (that group of three gods), And there is no god besides (that group of three gods in one); It is I (the godhead) who put to death and give life. I have wounded and it is I who heal, And there is no one who can deliver from My hand (that’s 6 hands I guess).

        Isaiah 44:6

        “Thus says the (group of three gods in one), the king of gentiles and his redeemer, the (group of three gods in one) of nothing: ‘I am the first and I am the last, And there is no God besides that group of three gods.

        Isaiah 45:5

        “I am the (group of three gods in one), and there is no other; Besides (the group of three gods in one) there is no God. I will gird you, though you have not known Me;

        Isaiah 44:8

        Do not tremble and do not be afraid; Have I not long since announced it to you and declared it? And you are My witnesses. Is there any God besides (the group of three gods in one), Or is there any other Rock (jesus)? I know of none.’”

        Isaiah 45:6

        That men may know from the rising to the setting of the sun That there is no one besides (the group of three gods in one). I am the lords, and there is no other,

        Joel 2:27 ” And ye shall know that I am in the midst of the gentiles, and that I am the (group of three gods in one) your gods, and none else: and my people shall never be ashamed.

        Deuteronomy 4:39

        “Know therefore today, and take it to your heart, that the (group of three gods in one), he is gods in heaven above and on the earth below; there is no other.

        Isaiah 43:10

        “You are My witnesses,” declares the (group of three gods in one), “And My servant (Jesus) whom I have chosen, So that you may know and believe Me And understand that I am He. Before Me there was no gods formed, And there will be none after Me.

        Isaiah 45:14

        Thus says the (group of three gods in one), “The products of Egypt and the merchandise of Cush And the Sabeans, men of stature, Will come over to you and will be yours; They will walk behind you, they will come over in chains And will bow down to you; They will make supplication to you: ‘Surely, God is with you, and there is none else, No other gods.’”

        Exodus 9:14

        “For this time I will send all My plagues on you and your servants and your people, so that you may know that there is no one like (the group of three gods in one) in all the earth.

        1 Samuel 2:2

        “There is no one like the (group of three gods in one), Indeed, there is no one besides You, Nor is there any rock like our (group of three gods in one).

        Isaiah 46:9

        “Remember the former things long past, For I am (the group of three gods in one), and there is no other; I am (the group of three gods in one), and there is no one like Me (us)

        Like

      2. It was common thought in Judaism until the second century that there were two powers in Heaven – both God – and this is really the basis for the idea of the Trinity we have today. Watch the video link I posted for the Two Powers in Heaven, and it might give you some clarity on that concept, which is not accepted in Judaism today. Yes Isaiah 45:23 is about God, and Phil 2 is ALSO about God, because they are one.
        Like I say, I believe this because I have seen the power of Jesus’ name in action – I have an experiential relationship with God. The very first time I ever prayed in Jesus’ name, God answered my prayer. I had a background in the New Age movement, and I never experienced that power or in fact ANY power until I prayed to God that day.
        Please know I am not attacking you in responding to you – I love you as you are my brother! You know and accept the law – which Jesus taught and told us to teach. God Bless you

        Like

  1. “Orthodox Jews do not have it in their best interests to prove that Yeshua is the Messiah, do they? ”

    Well, maybe you are wrong and they are right, have you ever thought about that? Tell me which prophecy did Yeshua fulfilled anyway?

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment. I wrote this piece with you in mind 🙂 I do not mean to offend you at all, but wanted to share that I have an experiential relationship with God – through the name of Jesus (Yeshua). That is not a coincidence! I really commend Michael Heiser to you for information on the prophecies – he can be found on Youtube sharing just that information. I am no expert, but I love God with all my heart, all my soul, all my mind and all my strength, and I have witnessed the power of Jesus’ name again and again. God Bless you

      Like

      1. “There are three things that are too amazing for me,

        four that I do not understand:

        19 the way of an eagle in the sky,

        the way of a snake on a rock,

        the way of a ship on the high seas,

        and the way of a man with an ALMA.

        20 “This is the way of an adulterous woman:

        She eats and wipes her mouth

        and says, ‘I’ve done nothing wrong.’ Proverbs 30:19-20

        This alma is a slut… She is definitively not a virgin

        Furthermore, the virgin is already with a child if you look at the Hebrew verse tense.

        for before the boy knows enough to reject the wrong and choose the right, the land of the two kings you dread will be laid waste. Isaiah 7:16.

        Regardless if it is a virgin or not,… The girl had a son, and that’s where Jesus cannot be, by any mean the person of that prophecy. The land of the 2 kings that were a treat to Ahaz will be laid waste before that specific kid has grown up. (That’s in the time of Hezekiah). Also, how could you say “Before Jesus learns to reject the wrong”? I thought Jesus was sinless, and never did wrong.

        https://therealmessianic.wordpress.com/2016/03/10/judaism-vs-christianity-part-1/

        Like

Comments are closed.