Why non-Christians ‘hate’ Christians

Now, I’ve put ‘hate’ in quotes there, because as you’ll see this isn’t real hatred. It’s not because of what we stand for, it’s something much more fundamental, and I’ll explain this from my own experience.

There was a time in my life where I was very New Agey in outlook. I really bought into all that ‘self empowerment’ stuff, and worked hard at it. The thing was it just didn’t work for me. Everything I tried, well, I got no results. But I was not happy and not well, and I knew that I couldn’t live like that, and one day, in desperation, I prayed to God in Jesus’ name, and He answered my prayer immediately. It was a real ‘kapow’ moment! My life was changed there and then, because I was profoundly moved by the experience. I was also, however, rather bothered by what I had just found out.

You see when you discover that God is real, you have no choice but to follow Him, to believe in Him and try to do His will. This can mean accepting things you really didn’t want to before.

In fact I really didn’t want to be a Christian – I really didn’t – that word, well, it made me cringe. I saw Christians as being self-righteous, I saw them as at best inflexible, and at worst, potential tyrants! I felt a deep physical cringing when I thought about them, or when faced with their views. I didn’t know my bible, I didn’t know God well – we’d just met as far as I was aware. So I started off walking MY walk with God.

You can imagine that didn’t last long – God has His ways, doesn’t He?

But what I want to bring across to you is that sinners feel the demonic clutches of the devil and cringe when they are faced with Christianity. When steeped in sin, humans find such goodness repellant. There are so many out there who would like to attribute the goodness you find in the family of God to some other, less pure, motive.

We know it is the work of the Holy Spirit, who brings us into all knowledge – and Yeshua, the perfector of our faith! But when lost in sin, those things are just like anti-matter – people can’t cope with it.

I remember the feeling so well I wanted to share it with you. I think it’s important to realise that the reaction we get is a reaction to Yeshua, and the reaction comes from oppressing spirits who HAVE that person in BONDAGE to sin.

I was in bondage to sin – and it’s taken time, and God has been patient with me, mapping out the route, and preparing the ground for me to walk away from sin. Step by step He has set me free!

I’m glad to say that that initial discomfort didn’t last long, even if some of my sins and strongholds persisted. I hope that if you’re a non-Christian reading this you’ll take heart – God loves you, and wants you – call upon Him and be saved from the evils of this world. Then comes the journey of a lifetime, and one I can’t recommend highly enough to you. As a former New Ager, I can tell you that this journey is the real deal, not some foolish attempt to raise mankind to godhood. This is all God’s work – I can claim no credit for the transformation He has wrought in me, and which still continues to this day.

At the moment He is still healing me, He is teaching me. He is protecting me, and He is nurturing me. Not everything is where is needs to be for me to be comfortable, but each step is a step forward.

So for any of you out there who feel that deep aversion to Christianity, look at the devil as the likely cause – he has you in his grip, and yet the arms you need to be in are those of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Amen to that!

God Bless you

Lis

7 thoughts on “Why non-Christians ‘hate’ Christians”

  1. Our True GOD the FATHER who art in HEAVEN and HIS SON Jesus ( Yeshua ) Christ said below;

    “Thou shalt LOVE the LORD thy GOD with all Thine HEART and SOUL, and to love thy Neighbor as thyself.”!!

    Love Always and Shalom,

    Kristi Ann

    Like

Comments are closed.