How the stock market ‘taxes’ and parasitises your standard of living

Have you ever been to Aldi? If you’re in the UK, I’m sure you have visited this darling of the middle classes – I remember when I very first went a few years ago. I was unimpressed by the stores – things seem to be piled up and there wasn’t a huge range, but then I got to try the products of course, and my opinion changed. The quality was as good as I used to be able to buy some fifteen years ago, and the prices were about two thirds of other stores. I wondered how they did it!

Well, let me give you some examples:

Why can’t Tesco sell a free range chicken for £4.99 like Aldi does? Why is theirs £7.22?

Shareholders

Why are Aldi’s boxed tissues far better quality and thickness and yet cost less than a pound, when Sainsbury’s ones are over a pound and very thin and mean looking?

Shareholders

Why can’t Sainsbury’s match Aldi on their sensitive washing up liquid at 69p, when Sainsbury’s charge £1?

Shareholders

If shareholders must be paid dividends, then this is the equivalent of a tax not only on your money, but on your very quality of life! Stock market floated companies are sucking the very financial life-blood out of our poorest (let’s face it, any ‘tax’ which affects the price of food is going to disproportionately affect the poor – what it known as a regressive tax). I can’t see this as anything other than a tax, because it is unavoidable unless you avoid stock market floated companies.

trickle down economics

People with money to invest in these shares are not the ones who have to worry about whether they can afford to buy a £4.99 chicken!

Aldi is privately owned and they make a nice profit thank you very much – they have been able to expand in the UK a huge amount in the last couple of years.

Yes, I know that pension schemes invest in stocks and shares, but there are far better and more equitable ways to profit in order to pay pensions – for instance in my local town their is a small shopping precinct and that is owned by a pension fund – they take money in rent from every shop there, and they still have the value of the actual buildings as well. They won’t be impacted by a stock market crash, I can tell you!

So what can you do? Avoid using stck market floated companies to buy your food – this would make a huge difference to our economy. Perhaps you have a local coop? Maybe you have access to Aldi (I haven’t been able to get to my local one for a while due to the cost of travel). At least be picky – choose to buy only the things you know are good quailty and don’t keep going to any one store through habit.

I buy some of my food mail-order. I get my raw Jesrey milk by mail order and I also buy wholefoods mail order too. I do this because of the quality, and these are both small UK firms.

It’s up to us to at least TRY to prevent ourselves from being parasitised by the stock market. And girls? Don’t date a stock broker! Put your ‘punani’ where your principles are! (Excuse my language!)

God Bless you

Lis

One thought on “How the stock market ‘taxes’ and parasitises your standard of living”

Comments are closed.