The sins of the fathers – are they really visited on the children?

I recall talking to a lady at a Vineyard church who was having great problems at home. I recommended a book on intergenerational curses, because it had turned my life around. Another lady there stepped in and rejected the idea of intergenerational curses – yet I had experience of them. The first woman said there was freemasonry in the family – so that was the very same curse I knew I had experience of. I hope she took my advice and got the book – it was a serious boon to my life.

But many today in the church argue that Ezekiel chapter 18 rules that out, however these words and the words of Exodus – the ten commandments – they are not mutually exclusive – they fit the pattern of God’s statutes. Let’s take a look:

Ezekiel 18:19-21 says:

“19 Yet say ye, Why? doth not the son bear the iniquity of the father? When the son hath done that which is lawful and right, and hath kept all my statutes, and hath done them, he shall surely live.

20 The soul that sinneth, it shall die. The son shall not bear the iniquity of the father, neither shall the father bear the iniquity of the son: the righteousness of the righteous shall be upon him, and the wickedness of the wicked shall be upon him.

21 But if the wicked will turn from all his sins that he hath committed, and keep all my statutes, and do that which is lawful and right, he shall surely live, he shall not die.”

But this does not change the commandement in Exodus 20:5-6:

“5 Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me;

6 And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.”

Why do I say that? Because God is the same today, yesterday and tomorrow – it is the righteousness which saves the man in Ezekiel from the punishment of their father’s sins. In Ezekiel 18:14 and 17

“14 Now, lo, if he beget a son, that seeth all his father’s sins which he hath done, and considereth, and doeth not such like, […]

17 That hath taken off his hand from the poor, that hath not received usury nor increase, hath executed my judgments, hath walked in my statutes; he shall not die for the iniquity of his father, he shall surely live.”

Because he walks in His statutes – and therefore repents of sin, and also partakes of the Day of Atonement, and so by walking in God’s statutes he is aware of, and sees his father’s sin, and he will repent of it, and the potential curse it brings is removed.

That was what I needed to do to deal with my family’s sins – except that I did not know God’s statutes, and I did not see my father’s sin (in fact it wasn’t my father’s but his father’s), so I needed a written guide to help me recognise sin, because the bible doesn’t call out Freemasonry by name, and I was a very new Christian, and I needed some help with that. Once I had that, I prayed and repented of what I now recognised as sin, and that is what turned my life around.

If there is sin in your family, repent of it. If you are not sure what constitutes sin, I can recommend this book: Unbroken Curses by Rebecca Brown (Link). It was exactly what I needed at a very difficult time. From when I first got and read that book, life has moved forwards (even if meanderingly), and the set-backs I used to see on a regular basis have not happened.

God is good!

God Bless you

Lis

One thought on “The sins of the fathers – are they really visited on the children?”

Comments are closed.