The power of words, and the power of silence

When Isaac gave the blessing due to Esau to Jacob instead, in Genesis 27, there was a significance to the story I had never heard taught before – the words could not be recalled or recanted! Jacob would receive the blessing, because it had been spoken over him – however unjustly! Isaac’s words had power, and he knew it.

We can see the power of words displayed to us throughout the bible.

God says that His words do not return to him without achieving what He sent them for:

Isaiah 55:11 So is My word that goeth out of My mouth, It turneth not back unto Me empty, But hath done that which I desired, And prosperously effected that for which I sent it. (YLT)

Yeshua was the word, made flesh:

John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God; 2 this one was in the beginning with God; 3 all things through him did happen, and without him happened not even one thing that hath happened. (YLT)

We are made in God’s image, and, as was seen with the Tower of Babel, when we join together, we can do, through our one pronunciation – our one language, anything we purpose to do (which ain’t good!):

Genesis 11:6 and Jehovah saith, ‘Lo, the people is one, and one pronunciation is to them all, and this it hath dreamed of doing; and now, nothing is restrained from them of that which they have purposed to do. (YLT)

So God confused our languages, and the European parliament is trying to build a new Tower of Babel:

tower of babelThere are lots of reasons why this image is sinister, but I’ll just move along to the story of Isaac: [emphasis added]

Genesis 27:24 And he said, Art thou my very son Esau? And he said, I am.

25 And he said, Bring it near to me, and I will eat of my son’s venison, that my soul may bless thee. And he brought it near to him, and he did eat: and he brought him wine and he drank.

26 And his father Isaac said unto him, Come near now, and kiss me, my son.

27 And he came near, and kissed him: and he smelled the smell of his raiment, and blessed him, and said, See, the smell of my son is as the smell of a field which the Lord hath blessed:

28 Therefore God give thee of the dew of heaven, and the fatness of the earth, and plenty of corn and wine:

29 Let people serve thee, and nations bow down to thee: be lord over thy brethren, and let thy mother’s sons bow down to thee: cursed be every one that curseth thee, and blessed be he that blesseth thee.

30 And it came to pass, as soon as Isaac had made an end of blessing Jacob, and Jacob was yet scarce gone out from the presence of Isaac his father, that Esau his brother came in from his hunting.

31 And he also had made savoury meat, and brought it unto his father, and said unto his father, Let my father arise, and eat of his son’s venison, that thy soul may bless me.

32 And Isaac his father said unto him, Who art thou? And he said, I am thy son, thy firstborn Esau.

33 And Isaac trembled very exceedingly, and said, Who? where is he that hath taken venison, and brought it me, and I have eaten of all before thou camest, and have blessed him? yea, and he shall be blessed.

34 And when Esau heard the words of his father, he cried with a great and exceeding bitter cry, and said unto his father, Bless me, even me also, O my father.

35 And he said, Thy brother came with subtilty, and hath taken away thy blessing.

36 And he said, Is not he rightly named Jacob? for he hath supplanted me these two times: he took away my birthright; and, behold, now he hath taken away my blessing. And he said, Hast thou not reserved a blessing for me?

37 And Isaac answered and said unto Esau, Behold, I have made him thy lord, and all his brethren have I given to him for servants; and with corn and wine have I sustained him: and what shall I do now unto thee, my son?

38 And Esau said unto his father, Hast thou but one blessing, my father? bless me, even me also, O my father. And Esau lifted up his voice, and wept. (KJV)

You see Isaac could not re-call those words he had spoken – he had blessed Jacob, and says ‘yea, and he shall be blessed.’

This story came to mind when I was talking with a friend who has an unsaved husband – he likes punk and ska music from the 1980’s, and I reminded her of this story, saying that whatever comes out of our mouths, we can not avoid it’s impact! I have burned probably 100 CDs in the last year – simply because I realised one day that, enjoying the gorgeous melody, what awful things I was singing about! Such beautiful songs – such awful subjects! We must be careful!

So there is power in words – we are to be mindful of that, and to recognise that therefore there is power in silence! We will be called to account for every word that has come out of our mouths!

Matthew 12:36 `And I say to you, that every idle word that men may speak, they shall give for it a reckoning in a day of judgment; 37 for from thy words thou shalt be declared righteous, and from thy words thou shalt be declared unrighteous.’ (YLT)

Let us remember these proverbs:

Proverbs 17:27 He that hath knowledge spareth his words: and a man of understanding is of an excellent spirit. 28 Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace, is counted wise: and he that shutteth his lips is esteemed a man of understanding.

Proverbs 18:7 A fool’s mouth is his destruction, And his lips are the snare of his soul.

Proverbs 21:23 Whoever guards his mouth and tongue keeps his soul from troubles.

Proverbs 29:20 Do you see a man hasty in his words? There is more hope for a fool than for him.

Time to speak less, and use care in the words we do say. I’m not suggesting you take this to extreme, but to be aware of what you say, and that your words truly do have power.

God Bless you

Lis

