Naming names – dealing with territorial spirits by name

UPDATE: The devil is clever and crafty – I had remembered the following verse,

Exodus 23:13 and in all that which I have said unto you ye do take heed; and the name of other gods ye do not mention; it is not heard on thy mouth.

and then forgotten it by the time I posted this piece, so thank you so much to Janet for the reminder – please note the prayer has been amended accordingly. Whilst we need to know the enemy we are dealing with, let us not forget that our words are powerful. So knowing this information, pray wisely, and in obedience to God’s law. God bless you.

There are territorial spirits in every country (and some in counties, towns, and villages). The bible tells us in II Kings, chapter 17: [emphasis added]

24 And the king of Assyria brought men from Babylon, and from Cuthah, and from Ava, and from Hamath, and from Sepharvaim, and placed them in the cities of Samaria instead of the children of Israel: and they possessed Samaria, and dwelt in the cities thereof.

25 And so it was at the beginning of their dwelling there, that they feared not the Lord: therefore the Lord sent lions among them, which slew some of them.

26 Wherefore they spake to the king of Assyria, saying, The nations which thou hast removed, and placed in the cities of Samaria, know not the manner of the God of the land: therefore he hath sent lions among them, and, behold, they slay them, because they know not the manner of the God of the land.

27 Then the king of Assyria commanded, saying, Carry thither one of the priests whom ye brought from thence; and let them go and dwell there, and let him teach them the manner of the God of the land.

28 Then one of the priests whom they had carried away from Samaria came and dwelt in Bethel, and taught them how they should fear the Lord.

29 Howbeit every nation made gods of their own, and put them in the houses of the high places which the Samaritans had made, every nation in their cities wherein they dwelt.

30 And the men of Babylon made Succothbenoth, and the men of Cuth made Nergal, and the men of Hamath made Ashima,

31 And the Avites made Nibhaz and Tartak, and the Sepharvites burnt their children in fire to Adrammelech and Anammelech, the gods of Sepharvaim.

32 So they feared the Lord, and made unto themselves of the lowest of them priests of the high places, which sacrificed for them in the houses of the high places.

33 They feared the Lord, and served their own gods, after the manner of the nations whom they carried away from thence.

34 Unto this day they do after the former manners: they fear not the Lord, neither do they after their statutes, or after their ordinances, or after the law and commandment which the Lord commanded the children of Jacob, whom he named Israel;

35 With whom the Lord had made a covenant, and charged them, saying, Ye shall not fear other gods, nor bow yourselves to them, nor serve them, nor sacrifice to them:

36 But the Lord, who brought you up out of the land of Egypt with great power and a stretched out arm, him shall ye fear, and him shall ye worship, and to him shall ye do sacrifice.

37 And the statutes, and the ordinances, and the law, and the commandment, which he wrote for you, ye shall observe to do for evermore; and ye shall not fear other gods.

38 And the covenant that I have made with you ye shall not forget; neither shall ye fear other gods.

39 But the Lord your God ye shall fear; and he shall deliver you out of the hand of all your enemies.

40 Howbeit they did not hearken, but they did after their former manner.

41 So these nations feared the Lord, and served their graven images, both their children, and their children’s children: as did their fathers, so do they unto this day.

I found this after I fell down the rabbit hole – you see I live in an area with a lot of witchcraft – an area where I suspect witchcraft is still going on today. In fact I was praying about two of my cats who had gone missing and never been seen again – and I felt that this was related to Santeria. I couldn’t understand how this was even possible, because Santeria is pretty obscure, or so I thought. It turned out that one of the gods of Santeria had a shop in my local town named after her…. a pagan shop.

So Santeria is active in these parts.

I had recently come across some information connected to ‘Little Creatures’ a book by Steve Quayle (Link), and as I have had some strange experiences in my house – mainly things like ‘somebody sat on my bed and there was no-one there’ or a few times being wrestled with in bed by an unseen force. I also definitely had a feline type visitor – I was so sure my cat had come into the room, yet when I woke up – no he was still safely shut downstairs. I even felt this ‘cat’ climb around my arms and face, over the pillow above my head and round behind me. Very odd things – so I know there are things stirring (don’t get me started on what the 23rd September might mean…).

In the list of contents there, I saw ‘the people of Dana’ and for some reason decided to look. I found an article, and is my won’t, I bookmarked it and moved on – I didn’t have time to get into it that day. Then something happened – I was laying giving myself some treatment, and I felt as though I could see that image you see on US silver coins – Liberty walking.

800px-Walking_Liberty_Half_Dollar_1945D_Obverse

I couldn’t see the relevance, so I just kept asking. Then I could sense this related to Columbia and to Britannia….

Then I fell down the rabbit hole! Will you join me – there’s a lot to cover!

That bible verse above will make a lot of sense when you read these words:

Rule Britannia – written by James Thomson and set to music by Thomas Arne in 1740

When Britain first, at Heaven’s command
Arose from out the azure main;
This was the charter of the land,
And guardian angels sang this strain:

“Rule, Britannia! rule the waves:
“Britons never will be slaves.”

Britannia is claimed to be the personification of the British Isles, but of course, she is far far more than that. Before I get to that, read the last verse:

The Muses, still with freedom found,
Shall to thy happy coast repair;
Blest Isle! With matchless beauty crown’d,
And manly hearts to guard the fair.

“Rule, Britannia! rule the waves:
“Britons never will be slaves.” (source)

As we can see from this Wiki page:

“The Muses /ˈmjuːzɨz/ (Ancient Greek: Μοῦσαι Mousai; perhaps from the o-grade of the Proto-Indo-European root *men- “think”)[1] in Greek mythology which the Romans adopted are the goddesses of the inspiration of literature, science, and the arts. They were considered the source of the knowledge, related orally for centuries in the ancient culture, which was contained in poetic,lyrics,and myths.” (source)

So more demon goddesses! But I digress! Back to Britannia, quick before I get lost and lose you along the way too!

Britannia

“The Emperor Claudius paid a visit while Britain was being conquered and was honoured with the agnomen Britannicus as if he were the conqueror; a frieze discovered at Aphrodisias in 1980 shows a bare breasted and helmeted female warrior labelled BRITANNIA, writhing in agony under the heel of the emperor.[4] She appeared on coins issued under Hadrian, as a more regal-looking female figure.[5] Britannia was soon personified as a goddess, looking fairly similar to the goddess Minerva. Early portraits of the goddess depict Britannia as a beautiful young woman, wearing the helmet of a centurion, and wrapped in a white garment with her right breast exposed. She is usually shown seated on a rock, holding a spear, and with a spiked shield propped beside her. Sometimes she holds a standard and leans on the shield.” (source)

England_half_penny_1936_(B)

So this appears to be a syncretistic way of making a new goddess, and naming her for this place. She connects to Minerva, and to another syncretistic Roman creation Sulis-Minerva, as you will see.

Minerva

“Minerva (/mɪˈnɜr.və/; Latin: [mɪˈnɛr.wa]; Etruscan: Menrva) was the Roman goddess of wisdom and sponsor of arts, trade, and strategy. She was born with weapons from the head of Jupiter.[1] After impregnating the titaness Metis Jupiter recalled a prophecy that his own child would overthrow him. Fearing that their child would grow stronger than him and rule the Heavens in his place, Jupiter swallowed Metis whole. The titaness forged weapons and armor for her child while within the father-god, and the constant pounding and ringing gave him a headache. To relieve the pain, Vulcan used a hammer to split Jupiter’s head and, from the cleft, Minerva emerged, whole, adult, and bearing her mother’s weapons and armor. From the 2nd century BC onwards, the Romans equated her with the Greek goddess Athena.[2] She was the virgin goddess of music, poetry, medicine, wisdom, commerce, weaving, crafts, and magic.[3] She is often depicted with her sacred creature, an owl usually named as the “owl of Minerva”,[4] which symbolizes that she is connected to wisdom. […]

Appearing much like Britannia here: Minerva, also known as Athena.
Appearing much like Britannia here: Minerva, also known as Athena.

As Minerva Medica, she was the goddess of medicine and doctors. As Minerva Achaea, she was worshipped at Lucera in Apulia where votive gifts and arms said to be those of Diomedes were preserved in her temple.[5][6]

In Fasti III, Ovid called her the “goddess of a thousand works”. Minerva was worshiped throughout Italy, and when she eventually became equated with the Greek goddess Athena, she also became a goddess of war, although in Rome her warlike nature was less emphasized.[7] Her worship was also taken out to the empire—in Britain, for example, she was syncretized with the local goddess Sulis, who was often invoked for restitution for theft.[8]” (source)

Sulis-Minerva

“In localised Celtic polytheism practised in Britain, Sulis was a deity worshipped at the thermal spring of Bath (now in Somerset). She was worshipped by the Romano-British as Sulis Minerva, whose votive objects and inscribed lead tablets suggest that she was conceived of both as a nourishing, life-giving mother goddess and as an effective agent of curses wished by her votaries.[1]” (source)

Sulis_Minerva_head_BathAnd I thought that might be that. I thought there might be just these few representations of Minerva to deal with – and that in naming them I would be able to adjunct on my spiritual warfare and make it more effective – names are good, but I am careful to not ASK the names of spirits – I am not strong like Yeshua – I really don’t know that it is safe for me to do that, just because He did that one time in the bible. I tend to just tell the cause of the result of the spirit to leave (if that makes sense). So if I have a spirit of fear, the fear is the result, even if I might not know that Pan is the god of panic, I will tell the spirit of fear to leave.

But then I hit the mother-load. I found this wonderful site: roman-britain.org/romano-british-gods

and there I found a list of the gods mentioned in dedications throughout Great Britain during the time of the Roman occupation here. Any one of my ancestors might have been involved in any of the following activities related to these gods:

Asking a god to curse someone for them

Making a vow to fulfil for that god

Giving worship to the god

Asking, as in divination, to know things from that god

All these are sinful activities, and as we are close to the Day of Atonement it seems especially appropriate to have this list come up. Now I don’t know if you have British ancestry, but if you do, you might want to pray along with me this prayer:

Heavenly Father, I come to you humbly and admit to you that I know not what my ancestors were involved in. This being the case, and this island being a place of much demon worship, I want to ask you to forgive me, as I stand here in repentance to you for the actions of my forebears.

I repent of all worship of these listed demon gods, I repent of all curse requesting to these demon gods, I renounce all vows made to these demon gods, and of all requests for information through these demon gods by divination. I ask now in Yeshua’s Holy Name that you would forgive me for these sins and wash me clean in Yeshua’s precious blood. I ask you to separate me and my family from those sins as east is separated from west now, and break any curse you have placed into my family line because of those sins today. Amen.

With respect to each of these demon gods, I now, by Christ’s Authority, break all fealty, vows, promises, connections and soul-ties to these demon gods. I renounce and break all assignments given to my family line by these demon gods: (read silently)

Abandinus, Aesculapius, Aeternae, Alaisiagae, Ancasta, Anicetus, Antenociticus, Apollo, Arciarcon, Arecurius, Arnomectae, Astarte, Beda, Belatucader, Bellinus, Bellona, Bona Dea, Bonus Eventus/Bona Eventui, Boudihillia, Brigantia/Bregantia, Britannia, Campestres, Camulos, Ceres, Cocidius, Concordia, Coventina, Deo Qui Vias Et Semitas Commentus Est, Diana, Digenis, Discipline, Dis Deabusque/Omnibus Dibus, Epona, Fata Bona, Fimmilena, Fontes/Fontibus, Fortuna, Friagabis, Garmangabi, Genius/Genius Loci/Genius Collegia/Genius Legionis/Genius Cohortis/Genius Centurionis, Gontrebi, Harimella, Hercules, Huiteris, Hygaeia, Ialanus, Isis, Ioug/Joug, Juno, Jupiter/IOM, Latus, Locum Religiosum, Maponus, Mars, Matres/Matribus, Matunus, Mercury, Minerva, Mithras/Sol Invictus/Sol, Mogti/Mounti/Mogont/Mogunt, Nemesis, Neptune, Nodens, Num Caes/Num Aug, Nux/Nyx, Nymphae, Oceanus, Ocelus, Onirus, Pacis, Panthea/Pantheus, Parcae, Priapus, quadruis caelestibus sacrum, Ricagumbeda, Regina, Roma, Romulus, Sattade, Saturn, Serapis, Signorum/Signum, Silvanus, Somnus, Soter, Sulevis, Sulis, Suria/Syria, Terminus, Tethys, Toutatis, Tridamus, Vanauntus, Verbeia, Vernostonus, Veterus/Vitiris/Vheterus/Huetiris/Hueterus, Victoria, Viradecthis, Vinotonus, Viridius, Virtue, Volcanus

– I renounce you all, and reject you, I command you and your emmissaries to leave my life, family, home and property now, in Yeshua’s Holy Name. Amen

I recommend you take a look at the list on that site, because many of those names have related information which may be relevant to where you live. If there is a specific god related to a specific problem you see in your local area, it’s a good opportunity to take time to pray against that demon god by name, taking back your town for those who may then be able to come to God.

So how does that relate to Columbia and Libertas? There’s another whole post coming about that – this isn’t just a rabbit hole, it’s a warren! I’ll also do one on the people of Dana at some point too.

Now is a good time to renounce all past family sin – the Day of Atonement was for that purpose.

God Bless you

Lis

4 thoughts on “Naming names – dealing with territorial spirits by name”

  1. A word of caution humbly given, this could be dangerous territory. I think of Romans 16:19 & Exodus 23:13″And in all things that I have said unto you be circumspect: and make no mention of the name of other gods, neither let it be heard out of thy mouth.” God numbered the days of the week: 1st day, 2nd day… Sabbath, so it is questionable if we should even use the other names derived by things that are worshiped. To detect the counterfeit we need to be primarily experts on the original: Christ our creator. God bless.

    Like

    1. That is such an interesting point – perhaps we should not name, but simply point to the list as given? I had that scripture come to me as well, but forgot about it before posting! Thank you Janet, I will amend the post. x

      Like

Comments are closed.