Are we under the Law, or under Grace?

Hmmm this is a controversial subject. I have heard otherwise sound-sounding Pastors say that we are under grace, and that Yeshua (Jesus) fulfilled the law, and therefore ended it. So much that I have read disputes this, so I’m going to offer this study, and I offer it prayerfully, and I ask you to accept it prayerfully and make up your mind with God.

What did Yeshua say about the law? I’ll give you His words in the order they appear in the New Testament:

 

“17 Do not think that I have come to do away with or undo the Law or the Prophets; I have come not to do away with or undo but to complete and fulfill them.

18 For truly I tell you, until the sky and earth pass away and perish, not one smallest letter nor one little hook [identifying certain Hebrew letters] will pass from the Law until all things [it foreshadows] are accomplished.

19 Whoever then breaks or does away with or relaxes one of the least [important] of these commandments and teaches men so shall be called least [important] in the kingdom of heaven, but he who practices them and teaches others to do so shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 5:17-19 Amplified Bible (AMP)

 

“17 Yet it is easier for heaven and earth to pass away than for one dot of the Law to fail and become void.” Luke 16:17 Amplified Bible (AMP)

 

“44 Then He said to them, This is what I told you while I was still with you: everything which is written concerning Me in the Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.” Luke 24:44 Amplified Bible (AMP)

 

“24 If I had not done (accomplished) among them the works which no one else ever did, they would not be guilty of sin. But [the fact is] now they have both seen [these works] and have hated both Me and My Father.

25 But [this is so] that the word written in their Law might be fulfilled, They hated Me without a cause.John 15:24-25 Amplified Bible (AMP)

I’m going to present this with little comment – I think it is clear from these that Yeshua’s life and death were the fulfillment of the things the Law and the prophets foreshadowed, but not the Law itself. He said He did not come to do away with the Law – in fact fulfilling and completing the Law did not do away with it. God’s Law is there for our benefit.

I think we are both under Grace and under the Law – because no-one can be perfect in their observance of the Law, and we are blessed to have a relationship with God which is full of love, and He forgives our transgressions when we repent.

I’d love to read your views on this – please leave a comment!

God Bless you

Lis

